Miss America 2020

Miss America 2020: Miss America will be crowned Thursday night for the first time at a Connecticut casino, marking the latest change to the nearly century-old contest that has recently undergone new leadership and a new direction. The finale of the 2020 Miss America pageant airs live Thursday at 8 p.m. EST on NBC.

The 2020 Miss America Competition will be broadcast live on Thursday, Dec. 19 from 8-10 p.m. ET (7-9 p.m. CT) from the Mohegan Sun in Uncasville, Connecticut. Tonight’s event will be broadcast on NBC and streamed live on the NBC app.

Fifty-one women representing all 50 states and the District of Columbia will be competing for the title, which brings with it more than $300,000 scholarships and a year of representing the organization. Tonight’s winner will take over for Miss America 2019 Nia Franklin.

Hosts will be Kit Hoover and Mario Lopez of “Access Hollywood.” Judges include “Queer Eye’s” Karamo Brown, actress Laura Ash and musician Kelly Rowland.

The competition- organizers pointedly do not call it a pageant – is the latest in what’s dubbed “Miss America 2.0.”

There will be no swimsuit or evening gown competitions. Instead, participants will present their talents and undergo an onstage interview, as well as discussing their social impact platforms.

Some preliminary winners have already been announced.

Women in Business Scholarships

Jacqueline Thomas (Arizona) Katelynne Cox (District of Columbia) Nikki Holbrook (Hawaii) Grace Zimmerman (Idaho) Alex Franke (Kentucky)

STEM scholarships

Mo Shea (Montana) Morgan Nichols (South Carolina) Darynne Dahlem (Arkansas) Lyndsey Littlefield (Massachusetts) Lauren Molella (New York)

Equity and Justice Scholarships

Mallory Rivard (Michigan) Ariel Beverly (Illinois) Caitlyn Stupi (Maryland) Brianna Mason (Tennessee) Alexandra Badgett (North Carolina)

Social Impact Initiative Scholarships

Nasya Mancini (Nevada) Amber Hulse (South Dakota) Morgan Nichols (South Carolina) Anika Wooton (Kansas) Dexonna Talbot (Utah)

First night preliminary winners were:

Jade Glab (New Jersey), on-stage interview

Mallory Rivard (Michigan), private interview

Victoria Hill (Georgia), talent

Second night preliminary winners were:

Hill (Georgia), on-stage interview

Shivali Kadam (Oregon), private interview

Camille Schrier, talent